Skip to main content Skip to main content

Honorary Membership

Any person (whether a member of the Institute or not), who in the opinion of the Council has contributed conspicuously to or is eminent in any of the branches of metallurgy or materials in which the Institute is interested or who has rendered outstanding service to the Institute may be appointed Honorary Fellow. No application may be accepted for admission as an Honorary Fellow. Council or any Branch may propose a person for Honorary Fellowship. Proposals, supported by biographical and other appropriate written evidence of achievement and signed by the President and Secretary of the proposing body shall reach the Secretary 90 days before the Council meeting at which the proposal is to be discussed.

The proposal with supporting information will be considered by the nominating committee and if that committee decided that the nomination should be considered by Council the proposal shall be circulated to all members of Council at least 30 days before the Council meeting at which the proposal will be discussed. Approval for admission must be given by at least 7/8 of all Council members. If insufficient members of the Council are present at the meeting in person or by proxy then a postal ballot shall be held.

The award shall consist of free Fellowship for life to the recipient and a Certificate of Honorary Fellowship. This certificate shall be accompanied by a statement of the reasons for the award.

There shall not be more than 20 Honorary Fellows at any one time and no more than 2 Honorary Fellows shall be appointed in any twelve month period.

The award shall be made by the President at the next general meeting following election.


  • 2016Trevor Finlayson
  • 2014Robert O'Donnell
  • 2013Ron Cecil
  • 2007Greg Tegart
  • 2007Ian Polmear
  • 1994R.B.Nethercott
  • 1993J.J.Byrnes
  • 1992D.W.Borland
  • 1991L.M.Hogan
  • 1990N.F.Kennon
  • 1988G.G.Brown
  • 1983F.W.Fahy
  • 1983H.Muir
  • 1982J.W.Thompson
  • 1981R.H.Myers
  • 1980J.G.Ritchie
  • 1979A.J.Berry
  • 1978A.I.McRitchie
  • 1978H.H.Freeland
  • 1975R.C.Gifkins
  • 1973A.F.Dunbar
  • 1972B.H.Garnsey
  • 1969R.J.B.Pearson
  • 1967K.E.Gerard
  • 1964E.D.Connor
  • 1963J.N.Kirby
  • 1958A.O.Ashton
  • 1958H.H.Wilson
  • 1955E.J.Raymond
  • 1955R.H.M.Rowe
  • 1951C.Blazey
  • 1951R.S.Russell
  • 1950J.H.Banks
  • 1949D.Clark
  • 1948J.A.Edgerton
  • 1947Essington Lewis
  • 1947W.N.Barron

Access key details

1 Home page
2 About Materials Australia
3 Login
4 Search
5 Shop
6 Membership
7 Contact
0 Access key details